Digital Disruption In The Market Place

th

I read today that digital offerings are disrupting all of the traditional ways we receive information-television, press, radio, film and magazines. It offers something new to people where that was a gap in the market-and slowly it will replace them.

It’s happened plenty of times before so don’t think this is something new:

THEN Camera film + camera = printed photographs.

NOW Instagram, Facebook, Smart Phones= Storage of photos online

Another example:

WAS Records, then tapes, then CD’s, then ipods

NOW Online music streaming.

Now I work for a newspaper so you must be thinking I’ll soon be out of work soon and the newspaper will close.

Well I can say with hand on my heart that I have never found my job as exciting as it is now. I don’t know what the future has in store for me but I do know that I’m not afraid to go with the changes.

I bring material home to read on digital advertising-I’m understanding how much investment there is in the UK economy on digital advertising and as a frequent internet user I am the future. You can’t pretend to embrace change-if you don’t believe in it I say don’t go along with it.

Take for example this about use of devices through the day:

In the morning mobile internet devices are heavily used as people log on during their commute to work- that’s me-I switch on in the car once I’ve parked in the morning! Tabletop PC’s and laptop useage is high during 9am to 6pm when people spend a lot of time in work-that’s me! And tablet use is highest in the evening when people are browsing the internet at home. That’s me!

So how could I not love digital advertising when I am a typical digital advertisers target?

As an events sales manager in work I recently thought I’d try setting up my events on Facebook. I wasn’t really expecting too much.

I cannot tell you how much it has transformed the way I work.

I now have my Facebook on all days in work as people contact me for information on the events all day. Every time an exhibitor comes on board I post their info on Facebook.

More importantly I am engaging with people more than I ever did before. And I hope I’m creating enthusiasm and brand awareness for my events and my company.

It sounds childish to say I’m excited but I genuinely am.

I’m not a sales manager any more-I’m a sales and relationships manager. I’m not just selling-I’m creating products/events and campaigns that provide solutions to businesses and around it I’m adding marketing information relevant to the events.

With my events I am:

  • Encouraging likes for local businesses
  • Enabling businesses to network with each other
  • Reaching a new community of people to engage with
  • Providing a new method of getting in touch with me
  • Encouraging engagement with my brand
  • Creating a sense of expectation
  • Meeting new people and contacts

I’m just a beginner and don’t profess to be a social media expert but enjoyment comes first in anything.

Here are my events if you’d like to see how I’m getting on:

https://www.facebook.com/events/333304756808170/?notif_t=plan_user_joined

https://www.facebook.com/events/625080507559214/

https://www.facebook.com/events/541943052560755/

If you have any questions please get in touch

All the best

Leave a Reply

